GCA/Brainstreet Under-15 tourney…TSC win Cup final in tense finish; GNIC are league champs

May 5, 2014 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Transport Sports Club (TSC) defeated Guyana National Industrial Corporation (GNIC) by five wickets to win the final of the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA)/Brainstreet 50 overs Under-15 tournament at the Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) ground, Thomas Lands on Saturday last.
Chasing a target of 177 for victory, TSC reached home with two balls to spare. GNIC elected to bat and were all out for 176 in 43 overs. Joshua Persaud and Christopher Campbell added 59 for the second wicket after Kurt Lovell (09) went early.

The victorious Transport Sports Club team

The victorious Transport Sports Club team

After Persaud was dismissed for 36 and Campbell for 25, Paul Thomas who also made 36 and Haifa Walters (21) put together 62 for the fourth wicket to steady their innings, but after they were separated the rest of  the batting failed to offer support.
Off-spinner Joel Spooner grabbed 3-19, medium pacers Mark Baptist 2-25, Anthony Antonio 2-25 and Colin Barlow 2-30. TSC replied with 177-6.
The match looked destined to end in defeat for TSC when they slipped to 135-5 in 43 overs, but a levelheaded sixth-wicket partnership between Mark Baptise and Joel Spooner revived the chase.
Baptise was left unbeaten on 27, while Spooner was not out on 13.
Earlier, man-of-the-match, Colin Barlow top scored with 35 while Anthony Antonio supported with 24, Mark Ramsammy, 19, Adrian Hinds, 17 and Daniel Scott 14.
TSC collected the winning trophy and $50,000, while GNIC received a trophy and $35,000.
Meanwhile, GNIC won the League phase of the tournament, playing unbeaten throughout. They received $50,000 and a trophy, while DCC ‘A’ team pocketed $35,000 and the runner’s up prize.
GNIC’s Joshua Persaud was voted the Most Valuable Player (MVP) during the League phase. He also won the awards for scoring the most runs (414) and the highest individual score of 142.
The award for the best bowling performance when to Dwayne Dick of GNIC with figures of 5-12 while Sese Norville of MSC won the accolade for the most wickets, 21.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.