Daren Ganga is the most successful Regional one day captain

February 23, 2014 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Statistician Charwayne Walker reminisces on the outstanding captains who have led regional teams in West Indies cricket.  In his musings based on research, Walker came to the conclusion that Darren Ganga of Trinidad and Tobago was the most successful regional skipper due to his outstanding performances.

Daren Ganga (newsday.co.tt)

Daren Ganga (newsday.co.tt)

Trinidadian Daren Ganga, who led the Red Force to Regional One Day titles in 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2009, is the only Captain with four Regional one day championships.  He supersedes compatriot Brian Lara and Guyanese Carl Hooper.  Lara led Trinidad and Tobago to three championships 1990, 1995 and 1996, while Hooper won titles for Guyana in 1995, 1998 and 2001.
Please find below a list of players who led their country to Regional one day titles:
David Holford        Barbados    1976
David Holford        Barbados    1977
Maurice Foster & Vivian Richards 1978
(Leeward & Jamaica shared)
Deryck Murray   Trinidad    1979
Roy Federicks        Guyana     1980
Deryck Murray   Trinidad    1981
Vivian Richards   Leewards    1982
Clive Lloyd         Guyana    1983
Michael Holding   Jamaica    1984
Milton Pydanna    Guyana    1985
Michael Holding   Jamaica    1986
Jeffrey Dujon           Jamaica    1987
Joel Garner           Barbados    1988
Julian Charles           Windwards 1989
Brain Lara           Trinidad    1990
Courtney Walsh     Jamaica    1991
Suruj  Ragoonauth  Trinidad    1992
Roger Harper/Keith Arthurton   1993
(Leewards & Guyana Shared)
Richie Richardson   Leewards 1994
Richie Richardson   Leewards 1995
Carl Hooper/Brian Lara      1995 November
(Trinidad & Guyana Shared)
Brian Lara              Trinidad    1996
Stuart Williams        Leewards 1997
Carl Hooper              Guyana     1998
Courtney Walsh        Jamaica     1999
Rawl Lewis              Windwards 2000
Carl Hooper               Guyana       2001
Courtney Browne       Barbados 2002
Shivnarine Chanderpaul   Guyana 2003
Daren Ganga        Trinidad   2004
Shivnarine Chanderpaul   Guyana 2005
Daren Ganga        Trinidad    2006
Christopher Gayle    Jamaica     2007
Daren Ganga        Trinidad    2008
Daren Ganga        Trinidad    2009
Ryan Hinds/Wilden Cornwall            2010
(Barbados and Leewards Shared)
Christopher Gayle    Jamaica       2011
Liam Sebastien    Windwards 2013
Kevin Stoute        Barbados     2014

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.