Everest, Minymika CC T20 fixture rained out

February 3, 2014 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Club launches 100th Anniversary

President of the Everest Cricket Club Rajesh Singh (right) presents one of the club jerseys to the Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony on Saturday.

President of the Everest Cricket Club Rajesh Singh (right) presents one of the club jerseys to the Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony on Saturday.

The scheduled T\20 game between the visiting Minymika Cricket Club of Suriname and Everest Cricket Club was rained out without a ball being bowled Saturday. The game was scheduled for the Everest Cricket Club to mark the opening of the club’s one hundred years of activities.
In an invited comment, President of the Minymika CC, Raj Nagpal said that he was disappointed that the game was washed out, adding that the members of his team are privileged to be part of Everest one hundred anniversary celebrations.
Meanwhile, speaking at a ceremony held to launch the milestone, president of the club, Rajesh Singh said that the club has managed to progress despite several challenges. He informed that the club is not just about cricket, but it is also the venue for a number of other sporting activities namely squash, hockey, dominoes and billiards. He added that the club once hosted the opening ceremony of the Caribbean squash championships and will unveil its centenary magazine on February 28.
Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport, Frank Anthony spoke about the history of the organisation. He informed that the club was called the British East Indian Cricket Club and founded by John Aloyisus Veerasawmy in 1914 and was renamed Everest Cricket Club in 1971.
Veerasawmy first played for British Guiana at the age of 19 against Trinidad and Tobago at the Queens Park Oval and took 8-37 bowling medium pace. He later migrated to England where he represented the Clapham Ramblers Cricket Club in London.
The Minister informed that upon his return, Veerasawmy leased his property in Queenstown to the club and after laying the ground and building; the institution was opened in 1915. “The first match was played on December 18, the said year. The club started to play second division cricket, which was referred to as the Garnett Cup and became the first team to win the tournament for three consecutive years when it captured the title in 1925, 1926 and 1927”, he added.
Anthony explained that their request to play first division cricket (the Parker Cup) was denied primarily on the basis that the ground was too small. “Kumar Maharaj Singh, a delegate from India who had visited the colony pertaining to colonization scheme, intervened. The British Guiana Government then leased the plot of land at Thomas Land and Camp Road to the club. The facility was opened on April 30, 1928 by Governor, the late Sir Cecil Rodwell and the club started to play first division cricket in 1929”, the Minister went on.
He said the club played a seminal role in the development of cricket in Guyana, adding that the first president of the club was the late Thomas Flood who served from 1915-1920.
The club will host a number of charitable events and a dinner for its past and present players including Rohan Kanhai and Joe Solomon, while softball tournaments and dominoes are also on the cards. The 2013 awards ceremony will be held on February 28.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.