No. 71 and Young Warriors clash in NBS Final tomorrow at No.69

December 14, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 


After enduring two rainy seasons and the beginning of a third, at long last, the 2013 New Building Society Second Division 40-Over Cricket Competition, which had over one hundred participating teams, will be reaching its climax tomorrow when the final is scheduled to be run off at the No.69 Village Ground.

Kevin Ramdeen

Kevin Ramdeen

Clashing for the title will be Young Warriors of Cumberland East Canje and No.71 of the Upper Corentyne area, both evenly balanced teams having shown much resilience by not losing a match so far in the round robin competition which was played in sixteen zones.
The Young Warriors batting will depend heavily on their former Guyana under-15 and Berbice under-19 cricketer, Kevin Ramdeen, who has so far registered a century and two half centuries in the competition. The only other half centurion in the team is former Berbice under-19 cricketer, Ishwar Singh, but others such as Mortimer Fraser, Sanjay Khan, Rudolph Baker, Anil Beharry and Berbice under-17 all-rounder Kassim Khan and veteran Hubern Evans have contributed consistently.
The Young Warriors mostly spin attack will be spearheaded by left-arm spinner Beharry, who is a past Berbice all-rounder, off-spinners Sanjay Khan, a former Guyana under-15 and Berbice under-19 cricketer, Romesh Munna, Ishwar Singh, Kevin Ramdeen and Hubern “Silver Fox” Evans. The pacers in the squad are Kawal Mangal and Kassim Khan.
The No.71 batting lineup will be spearheaded by the prolific Soomdat Singh, who has amassed 500 runs; the most runs in the tournament by an individual and which included two centuries and two half centuries, Khemraj Sugrim, Fiaz Mohamed and Andrew Seamber, all have half centuries under their belts, while Nazim Mohamed, Deoprakash Ramdat, Manouram Vincent, Navin Vincent and Lionel Seegobin have all scored

Soomdat Singh

Soomdat Singh

useful runs in the past.
Their bowling lineup includes three medium pacers in Karamchand Roopraj, Nazim Mohamed and Seegobin, two left arm spinners in brothers Navin and Manouram Vincent and off-spinner Deoprakash Ramdat.
Umpires Zaheer Moakan and Clement Brusche will officiate with Omadat Samaroo doing standby duties.
The match will commence at 11:00am and the teams and officials will be met by BCB and NBS officials.



If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.