Mac Twenty\20 cricket – Wakenaam Wins for SSSC, GSSC, SSJSC and NSC Sampson, Ramalho hit centuries

October 19, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Oyono Sampson stoked a fine century as Sans Souci Sports Club (SSSC) opened their Mac Twenty\20 cricket competition campaign with a 53-run win over Zeelandia Sports Club last Sunday in Wakenaam.

Sampson smashed two fours and sixteen sixes in scoring 137 while Satnarine Sahadeo supported with 18 for Sans Souci who posted a challenging 223 all out in 20 overs after taking first strike at Zeelandia. Navishaul Pooran, Hemraj Pooran and Darmindra Pooran claimed 2 wickets each. The host threatened somewhat before they were bowled out in 20 overs for 180 in reply. Harinauth Deepan made 44, Hemraj Pooran 38 and Ryan Adams 32. Wayne Osborne snared 2-6, Keddernauth Narain 2-10, Derwin Daniels 2-20 and Keval Persaud 2-26 for the winners.

At Zeelandia at 13:00 hrs, the host went down to Noitgedacht 3 wickets. Led by Deepan 44, Hemraj Pooran 36, Ryan Adams 35 and Navishaul Pooran 30 the home team scored a respectable 222-8 in 20 overs batting first. Kemo Paul and Neil Ramalho claimed 2 wickets each. Ramalho then smashed 160 as Noitgedacht responded with 223-7 in 19 overs. Navishaul Pooran, Hemraj Pooran and Ryan Adams took 2 wickets apiece.

At Wakenaam Community Centre ground at 09:30 hrs, Good Success Sports Club (GSSC) overcame defending champions Sans Souci Jaguars Sports Club (SSJSC) by 3 runs in a keenly contested affair. Good Success took first strike and managed 106-6 off their allocation of 20 overs with Wazir Khan and Abdool Salim scoring 25 each. Pacers Siddiq Mohamed and Olwin Paton grabbed 3-21 and 2-21 respectively.

Sans Souci Jaguars fought bravely before they succumbed off the final ball of the innings for 103. Kevin Paul 16 not out, Paton 15 and Nokta Moses 11 were their leading batsman; left arm spinner Imran Khan and off spinner Nazeer Mohamed picked up 2-14 apiece while Vickram Ramnarine who bowled the final over in which the Jaguars got 10 out of the required 13, took 2-22.

At the Wakenaam Community Centre ground at 13:00 hrs, Sans Souci Jaguars rebounded to thump Maria’s Pleasure by 79 runs. The Jaguars batted first and rattled up 159 all out in 20 overs. Zameer Zaman cracked 33, Moses 32 and Rashad Rasheed 25. Kennard Lewis, Bernard Lewis and Leorayan Ramlakhan captured 2 wickets each. Maria’s Pleasure were skittled for 80 in 17.3 overs in response. Bernard Lewis and Vinod Persaud scored 20 each while left arm spinner Moin Khan bagged 3-15, Moses 3-17, Paton 2-6 and Siddiq Mohamed 2-9.

The competition continues tomorrow with Sans Souci playing Noitgedacht at 09:00hrs and Good Success facing Maria’s Pleasure at 13:00 hrs at the Wakenaam Community Centre ground in the final two preliminary round matches.


If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.