GCA/NBS second division tourney…GYO, MSC and Police chalk victories

October 6, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 


Gandhi Youth Organisation (GYO), Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) and Police recorded victories when action in the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA)\New Building Society (NBS) second division 40 over competition continued yesterday.
At GYO, the host beat St. Stanislaus by 60 runs. GYO batted first and posted 188 all out in 36.5 overs. Dereck Koulan top scored with 57 (10×4) while Mahendra Geenarine made 28 (6×4). Suresh Sookai grabbed 4-31 and Paul De Freitas 3-33. St. Stanislaus were bowled out for 128 in 22.3 overs in reply. Price Roberts with 63 (10×4 1×6) and Travis Belgrave 14 were the only batsmen that offered resistance; Richard Hoyte claimed 3-16, Shivdat Motee 3-20 and Geenarine 2-12.

Danny Narayan

Danny Narayan

At MSC, the home team overcame Transport Sports Club (TSC) by 20 runs. MSC took first strike and scored 214-8 off their allotted 40 overs. Danny Narayan led with 59 not out (3×4) and Kareem Naughton supported with 48 (3×4 4×6). Keon Morris captured 2-16, Shaun Massiah 2-17 and Kevin Ross 2-30.
TSC replied with 194 all out in 38 overs. Charwayne Mc Pherson was their leading batsman with 51 (2×4 1×6), Azeem Azeez scored 39 (3×4) and Oslyn Batson 27 (2×4). Cordel Mars and Edwin Burnette snared 2 wickets each for the winners.
At GNIC, Police got the better of the host by 6 wickets. GNIC managed 180 before they were bowled out in 28.2 overs, batting first. Orlando Fraser top scored with 54 (8×4 2×6), Delroy Charles made 27(1×4 1×6), Dwight Dodson 24 (5×4) and Troy Thompson 23 (2×4). Kelvin Leitch bagged 4-19 while Troy Benn had 2-37.
Police responded with 181-4 in 23.2 overs. Benn returned to slam 76 (12×4 2×6) while Mark Rowbe chipped in with 38 (6×4).



If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.