Imam Bacchus SC take PYO T\20 title in E’bo

October 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Imam Bacchus Sports Club defeated Rising Star by 66 runs to win the final of the Progressive Youth Organization (PYO) Twenty\20 cricket competition last Sunday on the Essequibo Coast.
Host Imam Bacchus batted first posted a respectable 199 before restricting Rising Star for 133 in 16.2 overs.
Imam Bacchus won the toss and elected to take first strike in front of a fair size crowd at Affiance, but suffered an early set back when medium pacer Rovin Dusraj trapped opener Samad Baksh (00) leg before with the score on 16. Latchman Rohit and Navindra Persaud added 53 for the second wicket before Persaud was dismissed for 27 (5×4,1×6).
Rohit and Keron Sewnarine put together 68 for the fourth wicket with aggressive batting. Rohit smashed four fours and one six in scoring 35 while Sewnarine top scored with 42 inclusive of three fours and two sixes. Navindra Persaud 27 (5×4,1×6) and Kasim Bacchus 25 (2×4,1×6) beefed up the total towards the end of the innings before their team was bowled out in 19.5 overs. Dusraj, O. Roberts, J. Dindyal. R. Ramdass and I. Latchman picked up 2 wickets each for Rising Star who yielded 35 extras.
The visitors lost an early wicket in reply when D. Dindyal was caught and bowled by Rohit for 07 with the score on 19 in the third over. C. Jones (05) was then caught by Ganesh Mangal at 25-2 before Ricardo Peters and P. Dindyal kept their team in the hunt with a third wicket partnership of 73 with level headed batting.
Left arm spinner Yougeshwar Lall ended their stand by uprooting the stumps of Peters for 41 which contained six fours and one six; Dindyal soon followed for 41 (3×4,2×6). The rest of the batting failed to fire handing Imam Bacchus a resounding victory. Mangal grabbed 4-17, Lall 3-27 and Sewnarine 2-14.
Mangal received the man of the match and the tournament’s best bowler awards while both teams received trophies. Peters was the competition best batsman. Thirteen year old Tamesh Persaud received a prize for being the youngest player in the tournament, while fifty nine year old Samad Baksh took home an award for being the oldest player.
Speaking at the presentation ceremony Parmeshwar Persaud of PYO congratulated the winning team, while Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr. Frank Anthony urged the players to take the game seriously.
Dharam Raj, Blue Spring Water, Vishnu Hollow Block were the other sponsors.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.