Satro take Phyllis Carter Memorial T\20 title

October 1, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 



Satro defeated Young Warriors by 6 wickets and 2 overs to spare to win the final of the Phyllis Carter Memorial Twenty\20 cricket competition which was contested last Sunday at Enterprise ground in Leguan.
Young Warriors scored 168 after they were asked to bat in front of a fair size crowd. Tyrone Narine top scored with 65 while Brian Murray made 39. Huchumchand Savitir grabbed 2-27 and Kevin Gordon 2-32.  Mustapha Zaman 47, Ajmal Arjune 40 and Savitir 38 then spearheaded Satro chase as they won the game in 18 overs losing 2 wickets in the process, ending on 172-4. Tyrone Narine and Brian Murray took 1 wicket each.
Rick Stephen of Falcons took the award for the picking up the most wickets in the competition while the best batsman prize was shared by Savitir and Narine.
Speaking at the presentation ceremony Terry Carter son of the late Phyllis Carter said that he was pleased with the performance of both teams which would encourage his family to come on board once again to sponsor cricket on the island.
President of the Leguan Cricket Committee (LCC) Viren Chintamanie thanked the carter family for being part of their calendar of activities.
The competition was played in memory of the late Phyllis Carter who was a resident of Leguan.



If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.