Guyana’s performance at Regional Under-19 tournament in St. Kitts (1977)

June 2, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 


Statistician Charwayne Walker, this week and in the coming weeks, looks at Guyana’s performance during Regional Under-19 cricket in the lead up to this year’s event. In a recent article, Walker had pointed to Guyana’s dominance when playing in St Kitts, the venue for this year’s tournament.
In today’s look, Walker highlights to stats of the 1977 outing.
Guyana first played Jamaica at Warner Park and won by 8 wickets in that game.
Scores: Jamaica 213 All out
Donovan Malcolm 40
Marlon Tucker 27
Bowling for Guyana Deryck Kallicharran took 3 for 48
Guyana first innings
230 All out
Ramrattan Jagnarine 38
Gregory Edwards 36
Orrin Gordon 35
Deryck Kallicharran 22
Bowling for Jamaica R. Leslie took 6 for 53 from 16 overs
Jamaica second innings
110 All out
Earl Whitley top scored with 53
Bowling for Guyana – Shubert Cappell took 4 for 20,
Jerry Angus supported with 3 for 34
Guyana set a target of 94 for Victory lost only two wickets in the process.
Gregory Edwards top scored with 43 Skipper Mark Harper finished off things with 27.
Guyana next played the Leeward Islands and lost by 99 runs.
Leeward Islands All out 205
Shirland Williams 45
Skipper Austin Whyte 38
Mike Joseph 25
Bowling for Guyana – Shubert Cappell took 3 for 43, Jerry Angus 3 for 66.
Guyana first innings 171 All out
Deryck Kallicharran 67
Mark Harper 37
Bowling for Leeward Islands – Austin Whyte 3 for 46, Conrad Bartlett 3 for 35
Leeward Islands Second Innings 199 All out
Shirland Williams 83
Mike Joseph 26
Bowling for Guyana Deryck Kallicharran took 4 for 59 and Godfrey Edwards 3 for 22.
Guyana set 234 for Victory were dismissed for 134.
Andrew Lyght 39
Mark Harper 32
Deryck Mangal 22 were the Principal scorers.
John Archibald and Earl Thompson took three wickets each for the winners.
The 1977 National Under-19 team that represented Guyana in St. Kitts:
Mark Harper – Captain
Andrew Lyght – deceased
Roger Box Hill
Shubert Cappell – deceased
Deryck Kallicharran
Jerry Angus
Tyrone Etwaroo
Gregory Edwards WKT
Godfrey Edwards
Deryck Mangal
Abdool Gafur WKT
Ramrattan Jagnarine
Orin Gordon
Glendon Gibbs – Manager.
Walker will continue with information on the other outings by Guyana in St Kitts over the years.



If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.