Port Mourant Cricket club T10 cricket competition…

May 22, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Wolf Warriors & Port Mourant declared joint winners in men’s segment; Karibee Rice Girls take female title

Joint winners were declared after bad light stopped play during the men’s final of the Port Mourant Cricket Club’s One-Day male and female cricket competitions which were played on Sunday at the Port Mourant Community Centre Ground.
In the aborted final between Wolf Warriors of Demerara and Port Mourant Cricket Club XI which was reduced to a five overs affair, Wolf Warriors batted first and hurried to 96-6 in their allotment of overs

General Manager of Karibee Rice Girls, Mohindra Persaud and Captain Niketa Toney, collects the winning trophy from organiser Godwyn Allicock.

with most of the batsmen making meaningful contributions.
Port Mourant in their turn at the wicket were 14-1 after 1.1 over when the batsmen appealed for light, stating that it was too dark for them to see the ball. After deliberations which involved the organisers, it was decided that the game be abandoned and both teams named joint winners, sharing the spoils for the first prize.
Apart from jointly collecting the winning trophy the two captains, Amerith Rai of Wolf Warriors and Harrinarine Chattergoon of Port Mourant received $60,000 each. Rai was also named most-valuable-player with scores of 40, 37 and 17.
In the female final which went down to the wire with victory being achieved off the last delivery of the evenly contested game; Nand Persaud and Company Limited ‘Karibee Rice Girls’ squeezed home by five wickets over Mike’s Wellwomen in a game which was also reduced to a five over affair. Batting first, Mike’s Wellwomen were able to reach 46-2.
Karibee Rice Girls in their pursuit stayed within striking distance and required nine runs off the last over. It came down all the way with 3 required from 3 deliveries, 2 from 2 and one needed from the last delivery.
A straight drive back past the bowler struck the non-striker’s stumps and ricocheted into the open as the batters scampered home in time for the much needed single, to the jubilation of the Karibee Rice team and supporters, led by sponsor and General Manager Mahindra Persaud.
In earlier play in the male competition – Port Mourant defeated Karibee Rice boys by 7 wickets: Scores – Karibee Boys 106-5 in 10; Port Mourant 110-3 in 8.1. Wolves Warriors won from Universal DVD by 25 runs; Wolf Warriors 124-6 in 10, Universal DVD 99-6.
Port Mourant whipped Skeldon by 9 wickets; Skeldon 63 all out in 8 overs, Port Mourant 64-1 in 4.1.
In another game, Wolf Warriors squeezed past Capo XI by 3 wickets – Capo XI 119 for 6 off their 10. Wolf Warriors 120-7 off 9.2 overs.
In the female category, Karibee Rice Girls defeated Blairmont by 7 wickets. Blairmont 76-4 off their 10 overs, in reply Karibee Rice Girls 77-3 off eight. Mike’s Wellwomen got the better of Trophy Stall Angels by 4 wickets in a close encounter.  Trophy Stall Angels 112-6 off their 10 overs.  Well Women 115-5 off nine.

The two captains, Amerith Rai of Wolf Warriors and Harrinarine Chattergoon of Port Mourant receive the winning trophy from one of the organisers.

Trophy Stall Angels then took third place after squeezing past Blairmont by 6 wickets.  Blairmont batted first and reached 42-5 off five. Trophy Stall Angels in their turn at the crease reached 48-4 off 5 overs.
At the presentation ceremony Captain Nikita Toney and sponsor Mohindra Persaud collected the winning trophy and cash from the organisers. Abena Parker collected the runner up prize on behalf of Wellwomen. (Samuel Whyte)



If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.