Rupert Roopnaraine wins major literary award

March 20, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 


Member of Parliament for A Partnership For National Unity (APNU), Rupert Roopnaraine, has won an award for his non-fiction book, The Sky’s Wild Noise.

Rupert Roopnaraine

According to the Peepal Tree Press, two of its books won their individual category prizes in the One Caribbean Media (OCM) Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature. These two titles, along with a third from Monique Roffey, will compete for the overall OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature.
Roopnaraine’s book is a wide-ranging collection of essays on art, literature, politics and society. According to the judges, “in the corpus of non-fiction prose in the Caribbean intellectual tradition, only José Martí and George Lamming rival the range of Roopnaraine’s capacities of response, depth of analysis and subtle and mordant style.”
The winner of the overall OCM Bocas Prize will be announced on 27 April, as part of the third annual NGC Bocas Lit Fest. The 2012 prize was won by Trinidadian Earl Lovelace for his novel Is Just a Movie. Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott was winner of the inaugural 2011 prize for his poetry collection, White Egrets.
The final cross-genre judging panel will be headed by the celebrated Jamaican writer Olive Senior.
According to Peepal, writers from St. Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana have made the shortlist for the 2013 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, sponsored by One Caribbean Media.
“From a long list of ten impressive titles in the poetry, fiction and non-fiction categories, the prize judges have chosen a shortlist of three books, written by one of the Caribbean’s most esteemed poets, a well-known contemporary novelist, and a distinguished academic-cum-politician.”
These three books, announced as the winners in their own genre categories, now go on to vie for the overall 2013 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, which comes with a cash award of US$10,000.
The 2013 poetry winner is St. Lucian poet and dramatist Kendel Hippolyte’s Fault Lines (Peepal Tree Press), hailed as both lyrical and prophetic, matching spiritual searching with social critique. The judges praised the collection, saying it “demonstrates Hippolyte’s excellent, all-round craftsmanship as a poet. His voice and cadence are unique and distinctive.” The judges add: “This book stands out as a singular achievement.”
Trinidadian novelist Monique Roffey is this year’s fiction category winner, for her novel Archipelago, a story of devastating personal loss that leads to a voyage of discovery. The judges praised the work for its risk-taking, “leaping beyond the boundaries of historical representation, language use, narrative perspective, and narrative form.”

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.