Thirteen Guyanese on 2013 FIFA Referees List

January 22, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 

Some of the male referees going through their paces ata recent fitness run.

Sherwin Moore & Deon Feassal are first timers

Guyana’s Referees continues to hold their own in the football world with a total of thirteen (13) making the 2013 FIFA International List.
Among these officials are first timers Sherwin Moore (Referee) and Deon Feassal who has been appointed as one of two Futsal Referees, the other is Roy Mc Arthur.
Heading the Referees List is Stanley Lancaster, Sherwin Johnson and the lone Female, Nicola Joseph.
The Assistant Referees are Dion Inniss, Venton Mars, Rollin Tappin and Trevor Porter.
Female Assistant Referees are Cynette Jeffrey, Odessa Caleb and Nakaysie Liverpool.
President (ag) of the Guyana Football Federation Franklin Wilson has congratulated the officials for being appointed to the FIFA List and challenged them to continue to strive to be the best and to maintain high standards.
Wilson noted that the officials have been rewarded for their commitment and dedication but that the job of keeping themselves in tip-top shape physically and up to date with the Laws of the Game is continuous.
“I would like to wish our officials the very best during 2013 and to remind them that they will continue to be under the eyes of all and sundry so it is important for you all to be on top of your game. Train hard and consistent and ensure that you attend all the training sessions that would be put on from time to time.
You are the standard bearers for the other officials so I expect you to be positive role models on and off the field of play for the other officials to emulate.”

Nakaysie Liverpool

CONCACAF President and FIFA Vice President Jeffrey Webb, who was part of the FIFA team that visited Guyana recently, also offered congratulations to the officials whom he was desirous of meeting whilst here but time did not permit.
“I would like to personally offer words of congratulations to the officials on their appointment and to let them know that they must continue to be disciplined and committed to the sport. Guyana has a rich legacy in producing top officials and you must all strive to maintain that positive legacy.”
Guyana’s leading official Diane Ferreira-James (Referee) and Abdulla Hamid (Assistant Referee) both hung up their whistles at the end of 2012 after very satisfying careers.
They have both represented this nation with a high degree of success the world over and the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) extends best wishes to both officials in their respective future endeavours.
The local governing body will recognize Ferreira-James and Hamid for their contributions to the game locally, regionally and internationally.
Ferreira-James has been appointed to the Caribbean Football Union Referees Committee and will serve until 2016, while Hamid has been appointed to the GFF Referees Committee which met last Thursday to chart the way forward for the development of officials.
The GFF Referees Committee is chaired by Wilson with Deputy Chairman being Lawrence Griffith. The other members are Dr. Maxine Parris-Aaron, Lindley Langhorne and Carlton Beckles.
The GFF is pleased to announce that Mr. Sherwin Johnson and Mr. Dion Inniss have been appointed to officiate at the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship from February 18 March 3 in Puebla, Mexico.
The GFF extends best wishes to both officials.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.