K&S Chico Junior U-13 Football championships… Keenly contested battle as Soesdyke Primary and Grove Primary go after top prize

January 15, 2013 | By | Filed Under Sports 



Footballers of the Soesdyke Primary School and Beterverwagting Primary School, egged on by vociferous cheering by their teachers and parents, engaged in a ferocious battle for honours when the inaugural K&S Chico Junior U-13 Football championships resumed at the Georgetown Football Club Ground Sunday afternoon last.
Despite the inexperience of the players, those in attendance witnessed a match of an extremely high quality that went deep into the second half before Soesdyke’s striker Jermel Holder broke the stalemate to propel his team into the finals slated to get underway January 20 next.
In all, there were three matches with two going all the way into penalty kicks. St Gabriel’s Primary lost to Buxton Primary after Yamai Armstrong breached their custodian in sudden death penalty kicks, while Grove Primary defeated West Ruimveldt Primary, also in similar fashion. Alwyn Haynes was the scorer in that match.
The Beterverwagting/Soesdyke Primary match was a joy to behold. The two teams engaged in a ‘no retreat, no surrender’ battle, each relentlessly aspiring to surge ahead. The youths demonstrated will power and determination, striking the ball with such force that impressed seasoned ball weavers at the venue.
Captain of the BV unit, Troy Abrams, may have been pint sized but he made his presence felt, weaving past the opposition’s defence cordon with such regularity that the pundits were amazed that he failed to score.
Kevin Marshall, a striker of the Soesdyke Primary School was another outstanding player whose dexterity left his opponents kicking thin air even as he slickly dribbled past their defensive lineup. The game was nil all with the time quickly dwindling when Marshall snuck past Beterverwagting defence and delivered a powerful kick that had success written all over it. Instead, the ball ricocheted off the left upright and back into play.  Jeremel Holder trapped the rebound, spun and delivered a fierce kick that whizzed past Soesdyke’s custodian, Jamal Robinson in the 36th minute.
Beterverwagting Primary had little time to make amends but that did not stop them from trying. Several raids to Soesdyke’s goal were met with fierce resistance as those players defended their lead right down to the final whistle.
Soesdyke Primary will now face Grove Primary in a showdown for the championship trophy on Sunday January 20, while West Ruimveldt and BV will clash in the third place playoff. Uitvlugt Primary and Company Road Primary will clash to determine the 5th and 6th place, while Tucville Primary School has already been confined to the cellar position after they withdrew from the tournament after they were sanctioned for breaching the rules.
Eight teams participated in the tournament which was to have concluded on January 1 last but was postponed after torrential rains over the holidays had forced the organizers to put activities temporarily on hold.
Apart from the lucrative prizes put up by the main sponsors, Beharry’s Company Ltd, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) on each team will receive BMX bicycles donated by Victoria’s Fashions of Church and Light Streets.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to kaieteurnews@yahoo.com
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.