Zaman efforts in vain as Warriors take Murray Memorial Trophy

November 26, 2011 | By | Filed Under Sports 



Muneshwar Jattan 26 (2×6, 2×4) off 8 deliveries overshadowed Mustapha Zaman’s fine allround performance as Young Warriors defeated Falcons by 7 wickets to win the Winston Murray Memorial Softball cricket title last Sunday at Enterprise in Leguan.
In the final which was of 6 overs duration, Falcons batted first and posted 58-6 off their allotted overs.  Zaman led with 42 (4×4,1×6) as Tyrone Narine picked up 1-18. Young Warriors in reply reached their target in 5.2 overs ending on 59-3 with Jattan leading the way.  Brian Murray also supported with 13 as Zaman captured 2-24.
Young Warriors took the winning trophy and each member received a medal, while Rebels took the most disciplined team prize.  Zaman collected the awards for the best batsman, bowler and player of the final, while Royan Jacobs of Maryvillle took the trophy for the catch of the day. Meanwhile in the female game, Young Warriors overcame Falcons by 10 wickets. Falcons scored 46-1 off their allotted 4 overs after taking first strike. Alicia Narine14 and Anesia Stevens 13 were their principal scorers.
Young Warriors in their turn at the crease knocked off the target in 3.4 overs as they finished on 47-0. Nikita Trotz led the chase with an unbeaten 29. Both teams received prizes while Trotz was given the awards for scoring the most runs, most valuable player and taking the catch of the day. Keisha Tucker collected the best bowler trophy. The competition was sponsored by the Murray family and was played in memory of the late Winston Murray who was a resident of Leguan.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.