Fourth round completely washed out

August 3, 2011 | By | Filed Under Sports 


The entire fourth round of this year’s Regional under-19 three-day cricket tournament in Guyana was washed

Despite sun for most of yesterday the Everest ground remained in a soggy condition as the match involving leaders Jamaica was called off by Lunch without a ball being bowled in the entire contest.

out without a ball being bowled yesterday after the sluggish outfields at all three venues kept the players indoors for the third straight day.
Like on Monday, the sun was out in all its glory for most of the day but the damage from the heavy rain over the weekend and early Monday morning was already done despite efforts to get the ground in a playable condition yesterday.
Leaders Jamaica and the Leeward Islands were scheduled to play at Everest, Trinidad and Tobago were set to face Barbados at DCC and host Guyana were to oppose defending champions Windward Islands at Bourda.
Each team collected three points from the washed out matches with Jamaica maintaining their lead on 31 points followed by Trinidad & Tobago on 27.3 and Barbados on 23.3.
Guyana without a title since 2007 when they won in St Kitts are fourth on the points table with 18.8 points while the Windwards are next on 10.3 points and the Leewards in the cellar position on 9.7points.
The final round is scheduled to commence tomorrow and after four rounds the top 5 batsmen are Windward Islands Captain Kaveem Hodge with 249 runs followed by T&T’s Akeal Hosein (196 runs), Sunil Ambris of the Windward Islands with 186 runs, Leeward Islands Skipper Rahkeem Cornwall (179 runs) and Jamaican opener John Campbell with 151 runs.
T&T left-arm spinner Derone Davis is the leading wicket taker with 23 wickets followed by Larry Edward of the Windward Islands with 18,
Guyana’s leg-spinner Amir Khan (14), leg spinner Donovan Nelson of Jamaica with 12 wickets and T&T spinner Jovan Ali with 12 wickets.
In tomorrow’s final round, Jamaica play the Windward Islands at DCC with the Umpires being Gyanandad Sukhdeo and Nandkumar Shivsankar, Barbados battle Guyana at Everest with Colin Alfred & Erickson Degalerie in charge and Trinidad & Tobago take on the Leeward Islands at Bourda with Francis Maurice & Shannon Crawford being the Umpires. All matches are scheduled to commence at 10:00hrs.
The competition was last held in Guyana in 2006 when Guyana took the title.
(Sean Devers)

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.