Essequibo Chamber of Commerce and Industry reawakens after long sleep

June 13, 2011 | By | Filed Under News 

The Essequibo Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ECCI) which has been dormant for some time has received a breath of fresh air in the guise of a newly elected executive body.

Representing the Private Sector Commission at the elections held last Saturday during the Annual General Meeting was Mr. Roubinder Rambarran. Rambarran stood in for chairman of the PSC Mr. Ramesh Dookhoo. Rambarran told the assembly of the recent accomplishments of the PSC and provided context for the role of the PSC in strengthening the Private Sector at large. Among the initiatives the PSC Representative expounded upon he focused on the body’s pursuit of partnerships with businesses in Brazil. He also took the opportunity to urge the ECCI to work closely with the PSC to promote the private sector in Essequibo.

The elected President, Mr. Tiwari Ramkellawan, responded in kind by promising his support for the Private Sector Commission. He also acknowledged the responsibility that comes with his new role and pledged to build on the achievements of the ECCI and its past presidents as well as to introduce new initiatives to move the business sector in Essequibo forward.

From L to R: Ms. Suean Sewnarayan (Secretary), Mr. Tiwari Ramkellawan (President), Ms. Maria Lord-Lewis (Treasurer), Ms. Gene Amsterdam (Assist. Secretary/Treasurer), Mr. Ryan Vanslytman (PR Officer) & Mr. Roubinder Rambarran (PSC)

Those elected to serve as  executive members are Mr. Tiwari Ramkellawan (Neal & Massy (Guy) Limited – President, Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth (retired teacher) – Vice President, Ms. Suean Seewnarayan (Medical Transcriptionist) –Secretary, Ms. Gene Amsterdam (retired educationist), – Assistant Secretary/Treasurer, Ms. Maria Lord-Lewis (Businesswoman) – Treasurer, Mr. Ryan Vanslytman (Alfro Alfonso & Sons) – Public Relations Officer.

The Executive Council was also elected and those members are as follows: Ms. Loran Gomes (GTM), Mr. Natram Ramnanan (Original Juice Centre), Mattadeen Etwaroo (General Store), Mohamed Nazmul (Wild Life Exporter), Jainarine Singh (Distributor), Hazrat Khan (Demerara Bank Limited), Nalini Dindial (Fishing & Fishing Supplies), Ganesh Jaigobin (Supermarket & Distributor), Gaitree Ramsamooj (Republic Bank Limited).

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest News Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.