GABF names 35 players for CBC trials

June 11, 2011 | By | Filed Under Sports 

– Overseas-based campaigners excluded

The Guyana Amateur Basketball Federation (GABF) has named 35 players to participate in trials aimed at selecting Guyana’s National Male Basketball Team to compete in Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CBC) Championships in July in the Bahamas.
Interestingly, the overseas-based available players were excluded from the list of 35 players that the federation released yesterday. GABF Vice-President, Floyd Levi was reluctant to give reason (s) for the exclusion of the foreign players when contacted yesterday.
“I see you’re representing the interest of the overseas-based players, but have you ever given the necessary thought to the local players, who have not had the opportunity of representing Guyana in over a decade?” Levi questioned when asked to comment on the absence of the foreign players yesterday following receipt of the federation’s official press release.
Guyana last participated at the CBC Championship in Puerto Rico in 2007 with an entire foreign based team after the local players were unable to get United States visas. Those players basically rescued the federation, which had already paid its registrations fees.
However, according to the GABF release, three affiliated sub-associations: the Linden Amateur Basketball Association; Georgetown Amateur Basketball Association, and the Berbice Amateur Basketball Association, nominated the 35 players from respective districts.
The trials for the players will commence at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall today. The federation stated that it will be conducting a “series of trials”, which implied that there will be other forums for national selection following today’s commencement at the Sports Hall.
After the trials, the GABF informed that a 14-man squad will be selected to represent the country at the CBC Championships. The federation said that Levi will chair a panel that will be identified to make the final selection of the team and affiliated touring staff.
Below are the 35 players nominated from the respective sub-associations to try-out for a place on the national team.
Linden Amateur Basketball Association: Marvin Hartman, Steve Neils Jr., Jason Alonzo, Orin Rose Jr., Louis James, Neil Marks, Chris Williams, Kevin Joseph, Shane Webster, Quincy Jones, and Trevor Profit.
Georgetown Amateur Basketball Association: Royston Siland, Naylon Loncke, Stephon Gillis, Travis Burnette, Ryan Stepheney, Akeem Kanhai, Dwayne Roberts, Rodwell Fortune, Travis Foster, Drumson McCullay, Andrew Ifill, Shelroy Thomas, Jaime Mayers, Jason Squires, Vivian Alder, Jermaine Slater, Ryan Gullen, Travis Williams and Earl O’Neil.
Berbice Amateur Basketball Association: Randy Richardson, Teopheolos Bess, Sheldon Thomas, Perry Cort and Carlos Crandon.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.