Murray’s Parliamentary seat to be filled shortly

December 12, 2010 | By | Filed Under News 

– Robert Corbin

While the seat has not yet been declared vacant by the Speaker of the National Assembly, the now unoccupied seat that belonged to the deceased Winston Shripal Murray will be filled shortly.
This is according to the Leader of the Party, Robert Corbin, who assured that the seat will not be allowed to languish.
Speaking with this newspaper yesterday, Corbin said that he did have a person in mind but did not want to disclose the information at that time.
Unlike the government which is allowed to use  up to four technocrats in Parliament, the PNCR is unable to do this and will have to resort to using a person from the list with which they campaigned.
Finance Minister, Dr Ashni Singh, Legal Affairs Minister Charles Ramson and Housing and Water Minister Irfaan Ali are all technocrats in the National Assembly.
The most recent replacement made by the PNCR was that of the seat that was vacated by James McAllister who was recalled from the National Assembly.
Murray, who served as the party’s Shadow Finance Minister, was both an Economist and a lawyer. He held many important Public Service positions.
He was a senior Minister and Deputy Prime Minister, 1985-1992; Head of the Presidential Secretariat, 1985; Head of the Department of International Economic Cooperation, and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade.
Murray entered Parliament in 1985 and represented the PNCR continuously up until his death recently.

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.