Keisha Jeffrey, Arjoons’, Khalil crowned champions

May 22, 2010 | By | Filed Under Sports 

The 2010 Woodpecker Products National Junior Squash Championships came to an exciting conclusion recently, at the Georgetown Club courts.
There were several intriguing matches that took place as national champions were crowned in nine different categories.
There was an unexpected epic battle in the girls under 13 final with things seemingly following the anticipated pattern as Larissa Wiltshire took a commanding 2-0 lead and then moved to match ball at 11-10 in the third against Taylor Fernandes.
This time around, however, Fernandes had other ideas as she came back to take the third 13-11, then showed great grit and determination to grind out the next two games 11-9 & 11-9 to complete a miraculous comeback and take her first national title.
This rivalry promises to produce much more spectacular encounters of this nature for years to come.
The second feature encounter of the day which was between Deje Dias and Jason Ray Khalil, lived up to its long and proven reputation for producing outstanding squash.
As in a prize fight, the two champions engaged in some fierce exchanges early with neither player able to assert themselves.
After splitting the first two games it was Khalil who edged ahead when he came roaring back from 4-9 down to take the third 13-11.
The fourth was another, knock down drag out affair, but it was Dias who managed to push the match into a deciding set when he held on to clinch it 11-9.
The fifth started even with service exchanging hands several times, before Khalil got it back at 3-3, and in a flash he reeled off the next eight points to serve out the match 11-3.
In his closing comments Tournament Director Deje Dias thanked sponsor Woodpecker Products for their support of junior squash over the years, while he also extended gratitude to Georgetown Club, the coaches, players and parents for doing their part in making the event a success.
Apart from awarding the top three finishers in each category there were also special prizes handed out to the best new comer, most improved boy and girl, a sportsmanship award as well as one for the most outstanding player.
The national selectors now convene this week to select the final team for the Caribbean Championships scheduled for July in the Cayman Islands.
The final team selection had to be done earlier than normal this year due to the logistics and financial commitments required to get a team to the Cayman Islands. The team is expected to me named this weekend.
Final Standings;
Girls under 13-
Champion – Taylor Fernandes
Runner-up – Larissa Wiltshire
Third Place – Alexandra Phang
Girls under 15-
Champion – Victoria Arjoon
Runner-up – Akeila Wiltshire
Third Place – Gabrielle Fraser
Girls under 17-
Champion – Victoria Arjoon
Runner-up – Akeila Wiltshire
Third Place – Gabrielle Fraser
Girls under 19-
Champion – Keisha Jeffrey
Runner-up – Kayla Jeffrey
Third Place – Ashley Khalil
Boys Under 11
Champion – Travis Whitehead
Runner-up – Shamani Griffith
Third Place – Alexander Cheeks
Boys Under 13
Champion – Ben Mekdeci
Runner-up – Patrick Fraser
Third Place – Alec Melville
Boys Under 15
Champion – Nyron Joseph
Runner-up – Ben Mekdeci
Third Place – Patrick Fraser
Boys Under 17
Champion – Jason Ray Khalil
Runner-up – Nyron Joseph
Third Place – Steven Xavier
Boys Under 19
Champion – Alex Arjoon
Runner-up – Jason Ray Khalil
Third Place – Deje Dias
Sportsmanship Award – Mahendra Khusial
Best New Comer – Shamani Griffith
Most Improved Girl – Kayla Jeffrey
Most Improved Boy – Jonothan Antczak
Most Outstanding Player – Ben Mekdeci

If you find a comment distasteful or inappropriate, you can flag the comment and send us a report for immediate removal. Send report to
Kaieteur News reserves the rights to moderate any comment deemed inappropriate and is not responsible for the views expressed.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Sports Headlines

>>> Click to see more...

Updated by Kaieteur News Personnel. All Rights Reserved. A GxMedia website solution.